# PROCEEDINGS OF THE LOCAL BRANCHES

"All papers presented to the Association and Branches shall become the property of the Association with the understanding that they are not to be published in any other publication prior to their publication in those of the Association, except with the consent of the Board of Directors."—Part of Chapter VI, Article VI of the By-Laws.

Article IV of Chapter VII reads: "Each local branch having not less than 50 dues-paid members of the Association, holding not less than six meetings annually with an attendance of not less than 9 members at each meeting, and the proceedings of which shall have been submitted to the JOURNAL for publication, may elect one representative to the House of Delegates."

Reports of the meetings of the Local Branches should be mailed to the Editor on the day following the meeting, if possible. Minutes should be typewritten, with wide spaces between the lines. Care should be taken to give proper names correctly, and manuscript should be signed by the reporter.

## UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA.

The April meeting of the University of North Carolina Branch, American Pharmaceutical Association, was held in the Pharmacy Building on Wednesday evening, April 30.

The meeting was attended by several pharmacists of the state, including Dr. E. V. Zoeller, president of the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy. A. I. I. Winne of Richmond, secretary of the Virginia State Pharmaceutical Association, was also present.

Dean Wortley F. Rudd of the Department of Pharmacy at the Medical College of Virginia, delivered an interesting lecture on "Pharmacy—Its Obligations and Future in the South." The speaker gave a brief history of pharmacy, including the progress the profession has made in the last few years. He stressed the fact that if the profession is to progress further the pharmacists as a whole must stick together and stand behind the different pharmacy associations.

After the lecture a strictly "Pharmaceutical Banquet" was given in honor of Dean Rudd.

During the month of April the Branch has added forty-four new members to its fold; thirty-seven of the new members, however, are registered pharmacists in the state. This brings our total membership up to one hundred and thirty-two.

#### MAY.

Since our last regular meeting the members of the Branch have been socializing quite a bit. On May 17, Dean E. V. Howell entertained the senior class and the members of the Branch with a fishing party and picnic. We were entertained again on the evening of May 29 by Prof. E. V. Kyser at his home.

The Branch feels very grateful toward Dean Howell and Professor Kyser for the interest they have taken in the association this year.

The officers for the ensuing year are: President, J. A. Meacham; First Vice-President, J. L. 664

Thompson; Second Vice-President, Edward Haupt; Secretary-Treasurer, J. M. Spoon; Member of the House of Delegates, E. V. Kyser.

C. R. WHITEHEAD, Secretary.

### UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON.

The regular monthly meeting was held May fourteenth at Bagley Hall, President Shaw presiding. Attention was called to the annual elections taking place at the next meeting, and a nomination committee appointed. The chair then introduced Mr. S. F. Worswick of the Taylor Instrument Company, Rochester, N. Y., who presented an able and interesting talk on the manufacture and use of thermometers. Many illustrations of the process of manufacture were thrown on the screen. Mr. Worswick concluded his talk with a few well-presented remarks on the value and meaning of the word "service" in connection with retail pharmacy. One hundred and five were in attendance.

## JUNE MEETING.

The final meeting of the school year was held June ninth at 6:30 P.M. A dinner at the University Commons preceded the business of the evening. Annual reports of officers were presented. It was interesting to note from the secretary's report that the Washington membership in the A. Ph. A. has been increased by nearly 100 during the past twelve months. The following officers were elected to serve during the next school year: President, A. H. Lehman; Vice-President, D. H. Campbell; Secretary, Harriet Snidow; Treasurer, Caty Braford; Membership Committee: P. A. Monroe, Chairman; V. Johnson, P. O. Maloney; Program Committee, D. H. Campbell, Chairman; D. H. Allen, Annette Hardinger; Delegates to Convention: C. W. Johnson, O. A. Anderson.

The meeting adjourned after a general discussion relative to plans for continuation and growth for next year. H. A. Langenhan, Secretary.